Breaking News

Australian vice-captain Rachael Haynes announces her international retirement

Another Australian leadership vacancy has opened up, with national vice-captain Rachael Haynes announcing her retirement from international cricket.

It comes on the back of captain Meg Lanning taking an indefinite break from cricket and men’s ODI captain Aaron Finch retiring.

With the Australians not set to play another international until January, Haynes, who has been national vice-captain since 2018, has decided to hang up her cap after 84 T20 internationals, 77 one-day internationals and six Tests.

“Playing at this level isn’t possible without the support of many people. From clubs, states, coaches, family and friends, I’m so grateful to those who helped me along the way. In particular, I want to thank my parents Ian and Jenni and partner Leah for their unwavering support,” the 35-year-old batter said.

“To all the teammates across my career, you are the reason I’ve played as long as I have. You’ve inspired me to be better every day. I’ve learnt something from all of you, on and off the field. You’ve challenged me as a player, helped me grow as a person and, most importantly, made cricket fun.

Rachael Haynes with her World Cup-winning teammates. Picture: Hannah Peters/Getty ImagesSource: Getty Images

“One of the great things about having a long career is watching those around you develop. I’m extremely proud of the way this team has brought players in and nurtured their development. The ability to help players transition smoothly has been instrumental to our team’s success. To be a leader within this environment has been the greatest privilege of my career.”

Haynes scored nearly 4000 runs across all three formats, including 98 on Test debut against England in 2009, two ODI centuries and 19 half-centuries.

She played pivotal roles in Australia’s Women’s T20 World Cup victories in 2018 and 2020, Women’s World Cup win in 2022 and historic Commonwealth Games gold medal run in July.

Haynes will continue as captain of the Sydney Thunder in the WBBL.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.